Alder Hey in the Park | Alder Hey Children's Hospital

Show Menu


Ophthalmology department at Alder HeyThe Ophthalmology team is made up of 3 Consultants, 2 Junior Doctors, 1 Clinical Fellow, 8 Orthoptists, 4 Optometrists, 1 Clinical Vision Scientist, 3 Nurses and 2 Health Care Assistants.

Ophthalmology Consultants

Mr J. Gonzalez Martin LMS, FRCOphth, FRCS, FEBO, Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmic Surgeon and Clinical Director

Jose Gonzalez-MartinJose Gonzalez-Martin graduated from La Laguna University Medical School, Spain in 1990. He undertook postgraduate ophthalmology training at the Tennent Institute in Glasgow, Yorkshire, Liverpool St. Paul’s Eye Hospital/Alder Hey Hospital/University Hospital Aintree and regional hospitals in Merseyside. He entered into the General Medical Council Specialist List in Ophthalmology in 2004.

In 2006 he was appointed Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon at Southport and Ormskirk NHS Trust and Honorary Clinical Lecturer at the School of Medicine, Liverpool University.

Since 2015 he has been a Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmologist at Alder Hey NHS Foundation Trust. He is currently the Clinical Director for Ophthalmology Services at Alder Hey Hospital. Nationally he is an examiner to the Royal College of Ophthalmologists.

He also practices adult general ophthalmology offering a cataract, glaucoma and ocular-motility service.

Memberships and Qualifications

  • Member of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (London)
  • Fellow of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists (London)
  • Fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons (Edinburgh)
  • Fellow of the European Board of Ophthalmologists (Paris)
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Medical Education
  • Member of the British and Irish Paediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Association
  • Member of the European Paediatric and Strabismus Society


  • 0151 252 5839 (secretary)

Nikolaos Vryonis MD, PhD, FEBO, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, Paediatric, Strabismus and Neuro-Ophthalmology

Nikolaos VryonisMr Nikolaos Vryonis graduated from Szeged Medical University, Hungary in 2005. He finished his basic Ophthalmology training in 2011 at Attikon University Hospital in Athens, Greece. He worked at the Ophthalmology department of Naval Hospital of Athens as a Military Doctor from September 2011 until September 2012.

Nikolaos trained in various Subspecialty Fellowship posts in Ophthalmology:

  • Bristol Eye Hospital, Cataract and Primary Care Fellowship
  • St Thomas’ Hospital in London, Paediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus Fellowship
  • St Thomas’ Hospital in London, Clinical Ophthalmology and Cataract Fellowship
  • St James University Hospital in Leeds, Paediatric Ophthalmology and Adult Strabismus Fellowship

Nikolaos joined Alder Hey in August 2016. Since January 2017 he has been a Substantive Paediatric, Strabismus and Neuro-Ophthalmology Consultant.

Special interests:

  • Paediatric Ophthalmology
  • Paediatric and Adult Complex Strabismus
  • Paediatric and Adult Neuro-Ophthalmology
  • Paediatric Ophthalmology Craniofacial abnormalities
  • Adult cataracts


  • MD 2005
  • CCT in Ophthalmology 2011
  • Fellow of European Board in Ophthalmology 2012
  • PhD in 2017


  • Member of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists
  • Member of the American Academy of Ophthalmologists


  • 0151 252 5961 (secretary)

Mr Harish Nayak MBBS, FRCOphth, – Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmic Surgeon


  • 0151 252 5839 (secretary)

Mr Arvind Chandna, MD, FRCS, FRCOphth – Honorary Consultant Paediatric Ophthalmic Surgeon, Research Lead


  • 0151 252 5961 (secretary)

Optical Services

  • Judith Gray – Head of Optical Services


  • Maureen Mitchell – Lead Orthoptist
  • Susan Anderson – Advanced Orthoptist
  • Julie Senior – Advanced Orthoptist
  • Hilary Woodward – Advanced Orthoptist
  • Karen Dean – Specialist Orthoptist
  • Caroline Fanning – Specialist Orthoptist
  • Eve Lynch – Specialist Orthoptist


  • Ian Cunningham – Lead Optometrist
  • Andrew Tompkin – Consultant Optometrist
  • Kathy Steer – Specialist Optometrist
  • Claire Kershaw – Specialist Optometrist
  • Derek McPhee – Specialist Optometrist


  • Richard Hagan – Clinical Vision Scientist


  • Caroline Helm
  • Jodie Pendlebury
  • Lynn James

Health Care Assistants

  • Sheena Woodcock
  • Mandi Yates

Pathway Coordinators

  • Sue McDonald – Theatre Co-Ordinator in Ophthalmology and Pathway Co-Ordinator to Mr Jose Gonzalez-Martin, Consultant Ophthalmologist (Lead Consultant).
  • Clare Harrison – Pathway co-Ordinator to Mr Nikolaos Vryonis, Consultant Ophthalmologist and, Clinical Fellow in Ophthalmology, and clinical vision science service.
  • Suzanne Jones and Karen Quigley – Pathway Co-Ordinators to Orthoptists and Optometrists.

This site uses cookies to enhance your experience. Find out more about our cookies Accept cookies